Fun Facts

Five Fun Facts about Planets

Have you ever been to space before?

It would be fun to go to space and float around, wouldn’t it? I’d love to visit planets other than planet Earth!

Read the fun facts below to learn about the planets.

  • There are 8 planets in our solar system, they are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. With the exception of Neptune and Uranus the other 6 planets can be seen unaided and all 8 are visible with a small telescope or binoculars.
  • The largest planet in the solar system is Jupiter, followed by Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Earth, Venus, Mars with the smallest being Mercury.
  • The innermost four planets of our solar system are called the “terrestrial” planets. The terrestrial planets (in order of their distances from the Sun) are Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars. Earth is the only one with liquid oceans, although Mars may have had them in the past.
  • Gas giants are large planets that contain more than 10 times the mass of Earth. They are made up of mostly gases, such as hydrogen, and small amounts of rocky material. The four gas giants in our solar system are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.
  • Humans have only landed on 1 planet. Earth! We are trying to get to Mars, but it may be another dozen years before we start Mars missions. We have landed on the moon, but that is all.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *