Fun Facts

Five Fun Facts about Nigerian Presidents

Do you know the name of our current president? You got it! His name is Muhammadu Buhari.

Below are some more facts about the Nigerian Presidents:

  • Nigeria has had 15 presidents since her independence from the British in 1960.Though some of these presidents have been in office twice!
  • Yakubu Gowon is the youngest president in Nigeria’s history becoming president in 1966 aged only 32.
  • Buhari is Nigeria’s oldest President becoming president in 2015 aged 72
  • Ernest Shonekan is the president with the shortest tenure. He was only president for 83 days!!!
  • Contrary to popular Opinion, Goodluck Jonathan is not the first Southerner Vice President to come to power after the death of a ruling Northerner president. The honour belongs to Olusegun Obasanjo who succeeded General Murtala Mohammed after the latter was killed in a coup in 1976.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *